Getting Started with Raspberry pi


Raspi-PGB001-300x267Raspberry Pi is a tiny mini computer that will make a new revolution in the future world. Thanks to WSO2Con I got a free Raspberry Pi. It’s super awesome. I really love it. We can just plug and play with this device. But you should have some accessories to get started. Currently there are two Raspberry Pi models available in the market. They are Model A($25) and Model B($35). The major different of these two models are Model A has 256MB RAM, one USB port and no Ethernet port, Model B has 512MB RAM, 2 USB ports and and an Ethernet port. If you are a hacker its good to buy a Model B. I got a free Raspberry Pi Model B device at WSO2Con.

RaspiModelB

Let’s get start

Extra Accessories

Power Supply  : There is a mini USB port to connect the power source and it is recommend to connect to an external power sources rated at 5V and a minimum 700 – 1200 mV for model B. I have used my mobile phone charger to supply power.

HDMI to HDMI/DVI cable : To get a video out from the R-Pi you can use either HDMI port or RCA port. Since my monitor is supported for only VGA and DVI input I have bought HDMI to DVI cable. There are simple HDMI to VGA cables but it is not working with R-Pi. So I brought a HDMI to DVI cable to connect with my monitor. Meantime you can use RCA port to connect it with TV.

SD Card : There is no inbuilt storage coming with R-Pi so you need to plug a SD card to work with it. 2GB is the minimum required size recommend by them. Since I did not have a SD card at the moment I have plugged a 2GB micro SD card with the adapter. But it’s always good to have a at least 4GB memory chip.

USB Mouse and Key Board : Obviously you should have a mouse and keyboard to give inputs.

Now you have all the weapons with you. Then download the R-Pi OS from the following link and burn it to your memory card.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads

Now you have done with the configuration! Plug your accessories to the R-Pi and connect it to a power source. Then it will get start to boot the system. The following figure shows the first booting screen of my R-Pi. In the first boot screen you will get a R-Pi config window. You can do the necessary configuration there and click finish.

IMG_20130218_203949

Then it will ask username and password. Use “pi” as the username and “raspberry” as the password to log in. Finally type “startx” to start with R-Pi desktop.

Awesome! Now you can see the following screen.

IMG_20130218_205739

Next blog post I will share the experience of sharing my laptop internet connection with R-Pi.

6 thoughts on “Getting Started with Raspberry pi

  1. […] Read more here: Getting Started with Raspberry pi […]

  2. There is definately a lot to learn about this topic. I really like all the points you’ve made.

  3. This is a topic which is close to my heart… Take care! Where are your contact details though?

  4. Hello there! This blog post could not be written any better! Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I most certainly will send this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a great read. Thank you for sharing!

  5. Hello! I simply would like to offer you a big thumbs up for your excellent info you have got here on this post. I will be coming back to your website for more soon.

Leave a Reply

